Visit Nether Stowey on 17th April 2023
A group of 14 people from the recently formed Quantock U3a Local History Group visited the village on the afternoon of 17th April for a “walk through time”.
The group assembled at The Thomas Poole Library, where Roger Stacey gave a detailed introductory talk about the village’s history, which dates back over two thousand years. The visitors were then divided into two groups which were led by Roger Stacey and Norma Frood, assisted by Sandra Sidaway, Pat Pardoe and Sian Stafford.
The groups progressed from the Library down Castle Street, observing its historic pre-Medieval, Medieval and Georgian landmarks, particularly the former Saxon hall house and Poole House, home of Thomas Poole. The groups assembled at the Cross with an overview of the immediate area of the Clock Tower, Clock House and George Inn and the site of the old Market Cross, stocks, well and Shambles. Roger read out a very scathing and humorous review from John Taylor (the “Water Poet”) of his horrendous overnight stay at the Rose & Crown Inn in 1649.
The visitors then moved on down St Mary Street to the Toll House before returning to Lime Street to view the site of the old Quantock Savings Bank founded by Thomas Poole and the houses and workshops of tradesmen of the past, including the wheelwright’s house, the old forge, the saddler and James “Conjuror” Cole, the clockmaker.
After viewing Coleridge Cottage (formerly called Gilbards) and the Village Hall, the group returned to the Library via Palmer’s Path for refreshments and discussion and viewing books, maps, old school books (provided by Roger) and photographs.
The visitors remarked how much rich history we have in the village and how they had enjoyed being shown its hidden past.